• LHV's non-profit partner to support development efforts and to increase public awareness of the mission and goals of Lackawanna Heritage Valley.

Our Staff

Joseph J. Corcoran, Executive Director
Linda Mlodzienski, CPA, Director of Operations
Michael Kilzi, Fiscal Director
Beverlyann Liuzzo, Assistant Fiscal Director
Owen Worozbyt, Trail & Environmental Projects Manager
April Rogato, Executive Assistant
Justin Topa, Community Engagement & Programs Manager

About the Lackawanna Heritage Valley

The Lackawanna Heritage Valley National and State Heritage Area (LHV) is located in Northeastern Pennsylvania. Based in Scranton, the heritage area encompasses the watershed of the Lackawanna River in Lackawanna, Susquehanna, Wayne, and Luzerne counties.

In 1991, the Lackawanna Heritage Valley Authority was established and it became the first State Heritage Park in Pennsylvania. In 2000, it was designated as a National Heritage Area by the U.S. Congress in recognition of the region's unique contribution to the American experience. LHV is managed by the Lackawanna Heritage Valley Authority, a municipal authority of Lackawanna County. In 2009, Heritage Valley Partners, Inc., was created as LHV's non-profit partner to support development efforts and to increase public awareness of the mission and goals of the Lackawanna Heritage Valley.

The focus of LHV is renewal - renewal of the environment, renewal of a strong and diverse economic base, renewal of pride and a sense of place. The heritage area serves a number of diverse constituencies, including historic and cultural sites, environmental organizations, students, educators, municipal governments, residents, and visitors to the region. Along with its partners, LHV supports and coordinates a diverse array of projects that preserve, promote, interpret, and enhance the historic, cultural, and natural resources of Northeastern Pennsylvania.

Board Members

Greg Popil, Chair
Catherine Gallagher, Esq., Vice-Chair
Brenda Kobal, Esq., Treasurer
John Schultz, Secretary
Thomas DePietro, Assistant Secretary/Treasurer
Ella Rayburn
Arthur Moran
Joseph O. Haggerty, Esq., Solicitor

Elected Officials

United States Legislators
US Senator Robert P. Casey, Jr. (D-PA)
US Senator Patrick J. Toomey (R-PA)
US Representative Matt Cartwright (D-PA17)

Pennsylvania Legislators
PA Senator John T. Yudichak (D-14)
PA Senator Lisa Baker (R-20)
PA Senator Marty Flynn (D-22)
PA Representative Jonathan Fritz (R-111)
PA Representative Kyle Mullins (D-112)
PA Representative Thom Welby(D-113)
PA Representative Bridget M. Kosierowski (D-114)
PA Representative Michael B. Carroll (D-118)

Lackawanna County Commissioners
Commissioner Debi Domenick
Commissioner Jerry Notarianni
Commissioner Chris Chermak